British Fashion Council announces Vogue Designer Fashion Fund 2023 shortlist

The British Fashion Council (BFC) has announced a shortlist of six designers for the BFC/​ (VDFF) for 2023. They are 16Arlington, Awake Mode​, Alighieri Completedworks, Piferi and Supriya Lele. The shortlisted designers will be interviewed by the Fund Judging panel with the winner(s) announced in May.

Ahluwalia – Fall-Winter2023 – 2024 – Womenswear – Royaume-Uni – Londres – © ImaxTree

This year’s judging panel is chaired by BFC chief executive Caroline Rush and British Vogue editor-in-chief Edward Enninful with the panel also comprising designer/model Alexa Chung, FT fashion editor Lauren Indvik, model/presenter/activist Munroe Bergdorf,  Burberry marketing chief Rod Manley, British Vogue deputy editor Sarah Harris, and & BFC Ambassador for emerging talent Sarah Mower.

Rush said: “We were amazed by the incredible breadth of talent each of the designers displayed. Coming out of London Fashion Week, London has reaffirmed itself as the city for creativity and innovation and each of these brands so perfectly exemplifies that talent and fighting spirit that the UK is known for. We are incredibly grateful to our funders for allowing us to continue to secure the pipeline of creative talent here in the UK.”

Narmina Marandi and Tania Fares, co-chairs of The BFC Foundation, added: “The continued growth of the BFC Foundation and the support of initiatives like BFC/VDFF comes at a very critical time for our designers, who face one of their toughest years to date in propelling their businesses forward. Seeing such an exciting and vibrant shortlist is proof that our British designers are still at the centre of global creativity, we need to continue to harness and support this talent for years to come.”

Established in 2008, the BFC/VDFF “celebrates exceptional talent and creativity and empowers business growth through bespoke high-level mentoring and professional services”. The Fund receives support of British Vogue, Burberry and Paul Smith. 

Previous winners include Richard Quinn (2022), Bethany Williams (2021), Wales Bonner (2019), Molly Goddard (2018), Mother of Pearl and Palmer/Harding (2017), Sophia Webster (2016), Mary Katrantzou (2015), Nicholas Kirkwood (2013), Christopher Kane (2011) and Erdem (2010).

Copyright © 2023 All rights reserved.

Credit: Source link






Dior: Yves Jones Laurent

There is an unstated battle each season among big-time fashion brands to stage the biggest, most telling, most talked about show in Paris...

Wright fumbles as commanders start new era with loss

By Mark F. Gray, Special to the AFRO The Washington Commanders opened what the organization calls a new era last Saturday against the...

Kim Kardashian Got Psoriasis Flare From Her Met Gala Diet

Kim Kardashian has recently revealed that she had to go through a...

JLo in an outfit perfect for a weekday date

The pop diva dropped in to work with her fiancé, who is in the...

Ye-Adidas Divorce Muddles Ownership of Yeezy Brand, Designs

Adidas AG’s decision to sever ties with the musician Ye has created a morass over how intellectual property rights developed in their multibillion...
en English